Language Arts 7

I teach one section of language arts 7 at KSS.  This page will provide lesson plans and resources for the students in that class.

Quarter 4
Monday, April 30
  • WOW words
  • Read "The Man Who Had No Eyes" 
  • WS- Due FRIDAY 
Tuesday, May 1:  Double DAY
  • Daily 6 Traits (Week 3 Day 1)
  • Write Source text pp.  161-167
  • COMPLETE a GATHERING DETAILS chart like the one on p. 167.  Follow the directions at the bottom of p. 167 where it says "create a gathering grid"
  • Break
  • Daily 6 Traits (Week 3 Day2)
  • Create an organized list like the one on p. 170... find three points of comparison.
Thursday, May 3:  Double DAY
  • Daily 6 Traits (Week 3 Day 3)
  • Check the thesis sentence and topic sentences from p. 170
  • Collect p. 167 & 170 The Man Who Had No Eyes" WS-
  • Examine the openings of sample essays
  • DRAFT your opening and submit.
  • BREAK
  • Daily 6 Traits (Week 3 Day 4)-- turn in the packet
  • STUDY HALL
Monday, May 7
  • Daily 6 Traits (Week 1, Day 1)
  • Examine the body paragraphs of sample compare contrast essays
  • Work on "Developing the Middle Paragraphs" pp. 174-175
Tuesday, May 8
  • Daily 6 Traits (Week 1, Day 2)
  • Work on "Developing the Middle Paragraphs" pp. 174-175
  • p. 176-  Ending your essay-- BRING DRAFT TOMORROW-- 2 points per paragraph
Wednesday, May 9
  • Daily 6 Traits (Week 1, Day 3)
  • Revision pp. 179-80 and pp. 182-183 and pp. 186
  • FINAL DRAFT DUE FRIDAY
Thursday, May 10
  • Daily 6 Traits (Week 1, Day 4) TURN IN!
  • WORK DAY
Friday, May 11
  • WoW words
  • Collect ESSAYS
  • AR READING

TUESDAY, MAY 15- MAPS test
WEDNESDAY, MAY 16- AR READING
Monday, April 23
  • cell phone arguments
  • Fill out discussion notes in class
  • HW:  PARAGRAPH AND NOTES DUE FRIDAY
Tuesday, April 24
  • Group work on Advertising in School-- question due Friday (every 4th answer)
Wednesday, April 24
  • Review writing guidelines for paragraphs
  • Rewrite arguments- due Friday
Thursday, April 25
  • Finish purple packet on Fables and folklore-due Friday
  • Study for WOW quiz
  • AR



Monday, April 16
  • Wow Words
  • REading test PowerPoint
Tuesday, April 17:  3FLM genre study
F: Fable
Wednesday, April 18
L:  Legend
  • Read and discuss "Sir Gawain and the Loathly Lady"

Thursday, April 19
F: Folk tale
  • Read and discuss "The Rabbit and the Tiger"
  • ASSIGNMENT:  "How the Rhinoceros Got His Skin" due tomorrow


Monday, April 9
1.  AEarhart paper-- theory #2-- draft section-- paper due FRIDAY

Tuesday, April 10
1.   AEarhart paper-- Conclusions section-- paper due Friday

Wedensday, April 11
  1. Use easybib to create Works Cite page
  2. PRINT paper
Thursday, April 12
  • editing groups
Friday, April 13
  1. Make corrections and print finals





Monday, April 2
1.  How to set up Google Doc.
2.  Go to 6th grade small lab.  Type in the sections of the ISEARCH paper that we drafted on Friday (Introduction and My Search)
3.  HW:  Read your research from last week so that you can explain ONE theory that answers your search question.

Tuesday, April 3
  1. Illustrate PARAPHRASING of theory 1 in class on overhead using AEarhart paper.
  2. Go to the 6th grade small lab and complete the introduction, my search, and theory 1 section of your paper.
Wednesday, April 4/ Study hall and reading

 ARReading/Study Hall  April 5



Comments